2021 Herb Kohl Initiative Scholarship


The Herb Kohl Educational Foundation annually awards its $10,000 Initiative Scholarship to100 graduating high school students in public, religious and independent schools throughout Wisconsin.  Each year, the Kohl Foundation selects 100 different high schools for the Initiative Scholarship.  The selection of schools is based on a seven-year rotation cycle, which allows every high school in Wisconsin to receive an Initiative Scholarship every seven years.  This year, Loyal High School was one of the 100 Wisconsin schools who were eligible to award this scholarship.

The intent of the Initiative Scholarship is to recognize students who are putting forth extraordinary effort to do their best in the classroom and who have overcome significant obstacles or adversity, but whose class rank is likely to make them ineligible for academic scholarships.  

Loyal High School is very proud to announce that Mya Beyerl will be our 2021 Herb Kohl Initiative Scholarship recipient.  Mya’s plans are to begin her bachelor’s degree at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point at Marshfield, where she will concentrate on science-related courses to prepare her for her eventual goal of becoming a physician’s assistant.

Back to School News       Print News Article